Housatonic Teachers Financial Credit Union

Serving Educational Professionals and their Families since 1935

About Us

Credit Union Overview

On May 25, 1935, during the great depression, the organizational meeting of the Housatonic Teachers Financial Credit Union was first called to order in Milford, Connecticut. Seven teachers formed the original Board of Directors by opening the first ever accounts by placing $5.00 each into a cigar box. It was important for our founding fathers to provide the educational community with a strong financial institution that they could trust. That same integrity that the credit union was built on 80 years ago has remained steadfast. Today, those original seven members and their respective $35.00 has evolved into one of the strongest financial institutions in all of Connecticut. With over 2,000 current members and nearly 20 million in assets, Housatonic Teachers Financial Credit Union still practices those same guiding principles founded in 1935. Below are many of the schools the comprise the evolution of our existing membership today:


  • Both Hill Elementary School
  • Elizabeth Shelton Elementary School
  • Long Hill Elementary School
  • Mohegan Elementary School
  • Perry Hill Upper Elementary School
  • Shelton High School
  • Sunnyside Elementary School


  • Bungary Elementary School
  • Chatfield-LoPresti Elementary School
  • Seymour Middle School
  • Seymour High School


  • Derby High School
  • Derby Middle School
  • Bradley School
  • Irving School


  • Calf Pen Meadow School
  • John F Kennedy Elementary
  • Live Oaks
  • Mathewson School
  • Meadowside School
  • Orange Avenue School
  • Orchard Hills Elementary
  • Pumpkin Delight Elementary
  • East Shore Middle School
  • Harborside Middle School
  • West Shore Middle School
  • Jonathon Law High School
  • Joseph A. Foran High School
  • The Academy


  • Frank Scott Bunnell High School
  • Stratford High School
  • Harry B. Flood Middle School
  • David Wooster Middle School
  • Chapel Street Elementary School
  • Franklin Elementary School
  • Lordship Elementary School
  • Nichols Elementary School
  • Second Hill Lane Elementary School
  • Stratford Academy Honeyspot House
  • Eli Whitney Elementary School
  • Wilcoxson Elementary School


  • Housatonic Community College
Housatonic Teachers Financial Credit Union © 2014 Frontier Theme